Dale Mandell – Q & A!

A few weeks ago, I saw a post by Fallon @ Slack Runner answering a load of questions about herself. You can see the post & her brilliant blog here

The post got me thinking about how i would answer some of the questions , so in honour of Fallon @ Slack Runner, i too have answered the questions, (i hope she doesn’t mind :-/ )

4 Names that people call me(other than my real name)-

Dale
Dinsdale
Darling
Oi – Normally by Helen. “Darling” when I’ve been a good boy, “Oi” when i haven’t!

4 Jobs I have had-

Barman – Edwards Bar
Buyer- Cartledge Lighting – 5yrs of Zzzzzzzz!!
Currently- Estimator at a Civil Engineering Firm – 7yrs
I’m only 33, i think that is more than enough jobs so far!

4 Movies I’ve watched more than once-
The Thomas Crown Affair (Pierce Brosnan version)
The Shawshank Redemption
The American Pie films
Anything from Marvel – I do like my comics!

4 books I’d recommend-

Gone Girl – Gillian Flynn
Ice Station – Matthew Reilly
The Light Between Oceans – M.L. Stedman
The God Delusion – Richard Dawkins

An interesting read whatever your views
An interesting read whatever your views

4 Places I have lived-

Hatfield Peverel, Essex
Chelmsford, Essex
Maldon, Essex
Bentley, Suffolk

4 Places I’ve been-

Mauritius
Rome
Last Vegas
Arizona

4 Places I’d rather be right now-
Home,
Bed
Somewhere in front of a log fire
On my sofa

4 Things I don’t eat-

Kale
That’s about it really, there’s not a lot that i won’t eat!

4 Of my favorite foods

Sunday Roast
Cheese – any & every type
Lasagna
Mint Choc Chip Ice Cream

4 TV shows I watch-

The Walking Dead
Downton Abbey – Bcos I’m made to.
Gogglebox
Game of Thrones

The Walking Dead, best show on TV??
The Walking Dead, best show on TV??

4 Things I’m looking forward to-

The new Avengers film – When it comes out.
Christmas
The rest of my life
Edinburgh Marathon next year

4 Things I’m always saying-

“To be frank…..” – I don’t know who Frank is???
“Whatever” – Great in an arguement!
“For the third time….” – This is to the children,..annoying.
“For f*cks sake” – Normally when something has gone wrong.

What is your current health related goal?

Lose a bit of weight & get that sub 3hr marathon!

What is your biggest irrational fear?

Probably something boring like Spiders. i mean really, one step and they are gone. What’s that all about???

Do you enjoy wrapping presents?

‘Enjoy’ might be the wrong word. ‘Tolerate’ is closer to the mark.

What’s your favorite cross training activity?

I quite enjoy swimming, it is just finding the time to do it. That and hiking……Snowdon, Scafell Pike,
Kinder Scout & others.

If I came to visit you, what would we do?

Whatever you wanted to. You’re the guest, you tell me!

You have 2 weeks off of work and 2 round trip plane tickets to ANYWHERE. Where would you go and who would you take?

I would take Helen on a tour of the Greek Islands. We are both interested in ancient Greek history so a chance to see places from Greek legend would be amazing.

What’s the most embarrassing thing that has ever happened to you during a run or race?

I can’t really think of one to be fair. I face-planted at XC training the other week when it was stupidly muddy but that wasn’t really embarrassing as everyone was struggling to stay upright. Nope, I’ve been pretty lucky so far!

Tell me the 3 best days of your life. Or at least the first 3 that pop into your mind.

The birth of my daughter Matilda
Meeting Helen
The other hasn’t happened yet, but it will!!!!

Helen & Mattie outside Ely Cathedral
Helen & Mattie outside Ely Cathedral

Okay, you HAVE to eat a fast food meal. What restaurant would you choose and what would you order?

Maccy D’s, Large McChicken Sandwich Meal with a vanilla milkshake and McFlurry to finish. Yum, but bleurgh!

Have you ever met a celebrity?

Steve Cram (World Champion & Olympic Silver Medalist) at the Southwold 10k Race. He was starting it!
Chi McBride – he was starring in ‘House’ at the time i met him in a shop in Las Vegas

Steve Cram, Olympic Silver Medallist
Steve Cram, Olympic Silver Medallist

Share a picture of yourself in non workout clothes!

A trip to Flatford Mill, Where John Constable painted the 'Hay Wain'
A trip to Flatford Mill, Where John Constable painted the ‘Hay Wain’

If you could choose to have a ‘do-over’ and switch careers, what would you choose and why?

I really wish i had been as active at school & maybe gone into a career as a PE teacher or Personal Trainer. Something to keep me active throughout the day, and if it was helping others, all the better!

If you won the Olympic Gold Medal – how do you think you would react?

Sheepishly & hoping that i didn’t get drug tested, as that would be the only way i could ever win an Olympic Gold Medal!

Sounds about right
Sounds about right

What do you want for Christmas?

Running Shoes, Running Spikes, XC Spikes….basically anything that i can put on my feet!

What skill do you lack?

The ability to step back & shut up. If i have a point, and i know the point is correct, i have been known to drive it home. Sometimes its better to concede and just know within yourself that you were right.

How would you answer any of these questions??? Let me know!